You are here

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
blderman
blderman's picture
LM29 vs EZ-Boardwalk Jr vs Linn Lumber 190A

Hey All,

I am getting ready to purchase a sawmill in the next few days and have it narrowed down to the three mills listed in the subject line.  Since this is a Norwood forum I was hoping you guys could give me some input on why I should choose the LM29 over the other two.  At the moment I am leaning towards the Linn 190A as I live in Oregon and they are offering $200 off plus free delivery right now.  I looked at an older Linn mill last night and really like it except for the location of the height adjustment handle.  It seemed odd to me to place it so high when the work you are doing is all below waist level.  I will mainly be using this for hobby milling but I am also a General Contractor and plan on using it to mill my own mantles and custom trim work for the houses I build.    Thanks in advance for any help! 

r.garrison1
r.garrison1's picture

I considered the Linn models, but I noticed the tracks were pretty slim relative to the Norwood models. They depend on having the support underneath, especially if you are running logs of any size. Consider that a 24" diameter log that is 12' long is probably 2000 to 3500 pounds, depending on moisture and species.

Another thing I noticed was the spring loading on the log clamp looks good, but if there is any instability in the log (deep bark, like cedar, or uneven shape), you can't crank it down tighter. 

Finally, I don't believe the Linn models have an underlug wheel. The unit sits on the track. If something causes strain, can it lift off a little, making a rise in the cut? I'm not sure.

That said, if you have a fixed location or a sturdy trailer you are mounting it on, that may offset #1 above. It may be possible to make your own clamp system (I did for my LM29, so that's not an insurmountable challenge).

Finally, it may have an underlug or some other means of keeping the sawhead on the track.